Skip to main content
Alert Juneau Tax Division Office Mailing Address Update 

All mail sent to the Tax Division office in Juneau through the U.S. Postal Service must be addressed to P.O. Box 110420, Juneau, AK 99811. Beginning Oct. 1, the Post Office will not deliver mail to the division’s Willoughby Avenue address, and the mail will be returned to the sender. In those cases, tax returns and payments may miss their filing deadline. This change does not affect the Anchorage Tax Division office.

Consumer Alert

Consumer Protection Unit warns of IRS Tax Scam

Telephone Cooperative Tax
2014 Annual Report

Telephone Cooperative Tax Reports

AS 10.25.550
Alaska levies a telephone cooperative tax on gross revenue of qualified telephone cooperatives under AS 10.25. The Division collects taxes from cooperatives.

The telephone cooperative tax rate is based on revenue and the length of time in which the cooperative has furnished telephone service to consumers as follows:

Less than 5 years1%
5 years or longer2%

Telephone cooperatives file calendar year returns that are due with payment before March 1 of the following year.

All qualified telephone cooperatives are subject to the cooperative tax. Cooperatives pay the telephone cooperative tax in lieu of corporate net income tax.

The Division deposits revenue from the telephone cooperative tax into the General Fund.

Telephone cooperative taxes sourced from within municipalities are shared 100% to respective municipalities less the amount expended by the state for collection of taxes.

The state retains telephone cooperative taxes sourced from outside of municipalities.


1959 - The legislature enacted the telephone cooperative tax as part of the “Electric and Telephone Cooperative Act” to promote cooperatives around the state. The due date for filing telephone cooperative tax returns was April 1 of the following year.

1960- The legislature changed the due date for filing returns to “before March 1.”

Data with additional years.

  Collections Summary

Fiscal Year

2014 2013 2012 2011

   Total Tax





   Taxes Shared

(1,971,302) (2,071,131) (1,913,065) (1,769,193)

   Tax Retained by State

$219,793 $151,407 $154,147 $128,318

  Filing Information

Fiscal Year

2014 2013 2012 2011

   Number of Returns

7 6 7 12

   Number of Taxpayers

6 6 7 7

Get Adobe Reader