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Notice – State of Alaska Fire Safe Cigarette Law
Dear State of Alaska Cigarette and Tobacco Products Manufacturer, Distributor and/or Retailer:
On July 18, 2007, Senate Bill 84 became law.  This bill requires that all cigarettes sold in Alaska meet new fire safe standards.  Although the bill was signed on July 18, 2007, the new law will not go into effect until August 1, 2008.  This will allow cigarette manufacturers, distributors, and retailers ample time to sell cigarettes already in the state that do not meet the new fire safe standards.  Under the new law, cigarettes sold in Alaska must meet the following criteria:

(1) the cigarettes must satisfy ASTM International Standard E2187-04, entitled “Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes” or an alternate test method approved by the state fire marshal; 
(2) the cigarettes must be sold in packaging marked with the letters “FSC” for “fire standards compliant” or other packaging marking approved by the state fire marshal; and

(3) a certification must be submitted by the manufacturer of the cigarettes to the state fire marshal certifying that each cigarette listed in the certification has been tested and satisfied the performance requirements listed in (1) above.  
(4) Certification will be required every three years and there will be a certification fee of $250 for each style (i.e., 100’s Lights, Menthol) within each brand family.  
Manufacturers requesting fire safe certification for their cigarettes should send the following:
(1) a copy of the test results for each cigarette brand style within each brand family that satisfied ASTM International Standard E2187-04 or an alternate test method approved by the state fire marshal;

(2) a payment of $250 for each style within each brand family to be certified.  

Items (1) and (2) listed above should be sent to the following address: 

Office of the State Fire Marshall


5700 East Tudor Road


Anchorage, AK  99507


Attn:  Kelly Nicolello

If you have any additional questions regarding Alaska’s fire safe cigarette certification process, please call the Office of the State Fire Marshal at (907) 269-5491.

Manufacturers, distributors and retailers who knowingly sell cigarettes in Alaska after August 1, 2008 that do not meet the fire safe cigarette requirements listed in the previous paragraph are subject to significant penalties.  These penalties can include both fines and/or product seizure.
The new law does allow a distributor or retailer to sell cigarettes after August 1, 2008 that were purchased and affixed with the state’s cigarette stamp prior to August 1, 2008.  However, the quantity allowed to be sold must not be greater than the inventory purchased during the same period of the previous year.
For a complete copy of the new law, please go to the following link:
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/get_bill.asp?bill=SB%20%2084&session=25
With the implementation of these new fire safe cigarette requirements, the Department of Revenue will be posting a directory of those cigarette styles within each brand family that are both Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) and fire safe cigarette compliant.  Only those cigarettes meeting both criteria will be approved for sale in Alaska. 
If you have any questions about this notice or any other cigarette and tobacco products tax laws, please contact the Alaska Department of Revenue, Tax Division at (907) 269-6620.
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